Alex's Home for Fine Fiction

Welcome to the home page for Alex Feinman, UX specialist, musician, and publisher of Fine Fiction.

(Looking for information on ISORecorder? You want alexfeinman.com instead. Same name, completely different person.)

News and other stuff

Fine Fiction

Duplicate

We Were Gods

End Game

Duplicate

What do you do when your ship is about to hit an asteroid?

Why, you jump in your Corp-provided DupliPod, of course. It's effective. It's foolproof. It's safe. First it records your brain patterns, then kills you. Saves on life support in the deep reaches. The DupliPod will grow you a new body when it's safe; you will awake refreshed and renewed.

Sometimes, it doesn't work quite right.

Duplicate: would you die to save your own life?

Duplicate, published in 2011, is a hard-sf novel in the tradition of Niven and Asimov.

Reviews from Amazon (from people I don't know, even!):

Interested? Preview the first two chapters for free and see what you think.

Note: Duplicate is rated PG for some violence and creepy situations.

(Trigger warnings within; full list may contain spoilers)

blood, death, emotional abuse, kidnapping, needles, self-harm, vomiting.

How To Buy

Buy the eBook ($2.99)

Head to SmashWords to pay. You'll get an eBook that works great on your computer, eBook reader, tablet, or phone.

Buy the paperback on Lulu and support independent publishing.

Buy the paperback from Lulu.com: ($6.99 plus shipping)

The best option if you want a physical, paper copy. If you and a friend both want a copy, pool the orders to save on shipping costs.

Buy the hardcover on Lulu and support independent publishing

Buy the hardcover from Lulu.com: ($24.99 $17.96 plus shipping)

A handsome hardcover; makes an excellent gift. This version includes a bonus map at the end.

The text is also available under the Creative Commons BY-NC-SA license; let me know if you want a copy of the text in order to create derivative works, or any other reason.

We Were Gods

Don Lucas Ferez, captain of the Border Guard, is tasked with keeping the ancient evils out of the peaceful South. When the Four Old Gods reappear, and slaughter his companion, he is first to sound the alarm.

In the real world, Luke Green, Don Ferez's player, is at his wit's end. The Four are the main programmers of the world-spanning game Luke helped create--and they've found a way to subvert the players rich enough to have a Game interface implanted in their skulls. Things get very real, very fast for Luke, as he confronts the collision between in-Game politics and real world criminal activity.

Saving the world is up to Luke, his hacking skills, and his ability to make friends--not a good start for someone who's been out of the game this long.

Acclaim for "We Were Gods"

Interested? Preview the first two chapters for free and see what you think.

Note: We Were Gods is rated R for violence, foul language, and explicit sexual content.

(Trigger warnings within; full list may contain spoilers)

blood, death, emotional abuse, kidnapping, needles, physical abuse, rape, suicide, vomiting.

How To Buy

Buy the eBook ($9.99)

Head to SmashWords to pay. You'll get an eBook that works great on your computer, eBook reader, tablet, or phone.

Buy the paperback on Lulu and support independent publishing.

Buy the paperback from Lulu.com ($13.95 $11.16 plus shipping)

The best option if you want a physical, paper copy. If you and a friend both want a copy, pool the orders to save on shipping costs.

Buy the  on Lulu and support independent publishing

Buy the Omnibus paperback from Lulu.com ($23.95 $19.19 plus shipping)

Buy a paperback edition that contains both We Were Gods and End Game in a single volume.

End Game (We Were Gods volume 2)

Game tester Luke Green tried to retire peacefully, hiding in his basement apartment and living off his start-up earnings. But his old boss has had other plans, controlling players through their game implants.

Luke, and his new friend Toni, have foiled Rob's first attempt. Bruised and broken, they face further complications as government agencies, and Toni's mob-boss father, get involved.

Luke and Toni find themselves in a life-or-death battle where their best chance to survive depends on their ability to outmaneuver, outwit, and, perhaps most of all, outcode their enemies.

Note: End Game is rated R for violence, foul language, and explicit sexual content.

(Trigger warnings within; full list may contain spoilers)

blood, death, dragons, emotional abuse, jerks, kidnapping, physical abuse, politics, vomiting.

How To Buy

Buy the eBook ($9.99)

Head to SmashWords to pay. You'll get an eBook that works great on your computer, eBook reader, tablet, or phone.

Buy the paperback on Lulu and support independent publishing.

Buy the paperback from Lulu.com ($15.99 $12.79 plus shipping)

The best option if you want a physical, paper copy. If you and a friend both want a copy, pool the orders to save on shipping costs.

Buy the  on Lulu and support independent publishing

Buy the Omnibus paperback from Lulu.com ($23.95 $19.19 plus shipping)

Buy a paperback edition that contains both We Were Gods and End Game in a single volume.